Biscuits & Sausage Gravy

Hi,

So I made this these items for Mother’s day Brunch. I just wanted to post the recipe here in case anyone wanted to know how I did them. I also wanted to say that these aren’t my recipes. The recipes below can be found on the nytimes website. All writings in RED are my own thoughts about the recipe.

Enjoy.

All Purpose Biscuits

INGREDIENTS

2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting

tablespoons baking powder

1 scant tablespoon sugar What in the world is a scant? It’s giving you a measurement so why add scant to it?

1 teaspoon salt

5 tablespoons cold, unsalted butter, preferably European style Like ice-cold, just put it in the freezer until you are ready to use.

1 cup whole milk

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 425. Sift flour, baking powder, sugar and salt into a large mixing bowl. Transfer to a food processor. Cut butter into pats and add to flour, then pulse 5 or 6 times until the mixture resembles rough crumbs. (Alternatively, cut butter into flour in the mixing bowl using a fork or a pastry cutter.) I did this but I guess the butter wasn’t cold enough. Return dough to bowl, add milk and stir with a fork until it forms a rough ball. I had to brilliant idea to use a Kitchenaid mixer for this part, after 5 minutes of mixing on low-speed the dough was still very loose. I still proceeded to the next step as I was on a schedule.

Turn the dough out onto a well-floured surface and pat it down into a rough rectangle, about an inch thick. And here is where things got bad, the dough was still sticking to the table no matter the amount of flour. I ended up adding more flour to the dough until it just took the shape of a ball but at this point I think I had over kneaded it. Fold it over and gently pat it down again. Repeat. Cover the dough loosely with a kitchen towel and allow it to rest for 30 minutes.

Gently pat out the dough some more, so that the rectangle is roughly 10 inches by 6 inches. Cut dough into biscuits using a floured glass or biscuit cutter. Don’t have a biscuit cutter to it was old school glass cup for me. Do not twist cutter when cutting; this crimps the edges of the biscuit and impedes its rise. This might be true if you look at the results below. They didn’t rise like they did the last time I made them. They were still good but didn’t have the flakey layers I was looking for.

20160508_130217

 

Sausage & Gravy

INGREDIENTS

1 pound bulk pork breakfast sausage

¼ cup all-purpose flour, or instant flour like Wondra

1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, or to taste

2½ cups whole milk

Salt to taste

ground sage to taste Or just buy sausage that has these in them already.

ground fennel to taste Ditto

ground red pepper to taste Ditto

DIRECTIONS

Set a large, heavy-bottomed skillet over medium heat and cook the sausage, breaking it up with a wooden spoon, until it is loose and no longer pink, approximately 10 minutes. Taste sausage and adjust seasonings — you may wish to add sage and fennel aggressively.

20160508_121048

Sprinkle the flour and pepper over the sausage and cook, stirring constantly, until the flour has been absorbed by the fat and has gathered its flavors close, approximately 5 to 7 minutes.

20160508_121950_001

Slowly stir in the milk and cook at a bare simmer until the gravy gets thick and the roux covers the back of a spoon. If it is too thick for your liking add more milk and stir Ended up adding a lot more milk and some water to thin it out some. Check seasonings and serve over split or roughly crumbled biscuits.

 

Tomorrow, I’m going to post a Bacon and Herb Butter Chicken recipe I came up with and on Saturday I’ll post up the recipe for the Mini Dutch Babies I also made for Mother’s Day. After that I’m going to take a break since I have to figure out dinner for next week and work on my part 4 of story about my other daughter Camryn.

Til then, enjoy.

Leave a Reply

