Slow Cooker Chili

20160403_175700

 

So Sunday morning we woke up early to head to the airport to pick up my mother in law. I had my day planned out. Grab her, make breakfast, relax and wait until 5pm and then watch WWE’s Wrestlemania for the next 4-5 hours. In order to get that started I wanted to get dinner out of the way as early as possible. My wife had mentioned that she wanted to try Frito Pie but since we didn’t have Fritos we just decided that Chili would be the next best thing. This isn’t my normal recipe for chili, that’s has a few more items in it like black beans, green chilies along with diced tomatoes but I didn’t a have those things around and I wanted to get this started early so it could cook in my slow cooker for next 6 – 8 hours so sacrifices had to be made.

 

Ingredients
1 Tablespoon olive oil
½ large onion, chopped
3 Tablespoons garlic, minced
2 lbs. ground beef
2 cans tomato sauce
1 can tomato paste
1 bottle beer (I recommend Corona, Sol, Presidente, or Dos Equis or brew your own, I did)
1 can red kidney beans
3 Tablespoons chili powder
2 teaspoons cumin
1 handful of semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 Tablespoon paprika
Salt & pepper, to taste

 

Instructions

Heat olive oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Cook onions 4-5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add garlic and cook together until fragrant, 1-2 minutes.

Place onions and garlic in slow cooker and return pan to heat. Add ground beef to pan, season with salt, pepper, cumin and paprika and cook thoroughly. Drain off all of the grease, and place meat in the slow cooker.

Add tomato sauce, beer*, tomato paste, beans, and chocolate chips and stir until everything is well distributed.

Cook on low heat for 6-8 hours if your slow cooker doesn’t have a low setting cook for 4 hours.

Serve over warm buttered rice.

(Yep, I brew my own beer and used it in my chili. After the next batch is done and if it comes out alright I’ll document the process during the 3rd batch and put it on the site.)

Leave a Reply

